Posted by: waterforwaslala | May 3, 2010

The Global Village

The sixth in a series of reflections from past Villanova Engineering students and professors who have visited and been touched by the people of Waslala…

One of my favorite parts of the trip was our overnight trip to the community of San Benito with a team of nursing and engineering students. This opportunity to travel to this community and for just a brief time be immersed in their life was truly a highlight for me. Being a part of the nursing team, I really enjoyed the opportunity to work with the engineering group while evaluating an existing the water supply project. One of things I think I will always remember from this trip occurred during the evening when the people of San Beneto put together a little prayer service while we sat in a circle by candle light. There were 12 Americans, 12 Nicaraguans, a priest from Brazil and two Italian exchange students. Although none of us actually spoke each others language for the most part, we were communicating through prayer and music, in a language that knows no barriers. And at the same time, I looked up to the sky, it was one of the most beautiful night skies I have ever seen. And at that moment, I felt a universal connection to my world back in Pennsylvania even though I was thousands of miles away.

Leave a Reply

Categories

