Posted by: justinknabb | September 7, 2010

Sept. 7: First WfW student group meeting at Villanova University

Tomorrow is my birthday (28 years old… yikes!), and I can’t think of a better way to spend it than with friends and friends-to-be that also share a passion for social justice, Nicaragua and Villanova University.  Put all those ingredients together and you have our Villanova – Water for Waslala student group, who have been our most loyal army of supporters from day one.

Waslala picture

with Greta in village of Waslalita (2005)

I will have the honor of speaking to the group for their first meeting of the year, to be held on September 7 at 7pm in Vasey Hall.  This will be the second straight year that our fearless leaders have asked me to give the first talk.  (I guess I did something right last year.)  I certainly encourage you to stop by our meeting if you are in the Villanova area.  I’m looking forward to meeting new volunteers and seeing old friends as well.

I will be sharing some photos and updates from our most recently completed community system, El Varillal II, and I also look forward to sharing my ideas for how VU students can get involved with our organization in 2011.  I will also talk about some of our other successes from our last fiscal year.  My hope is that all our student supporters are fulfilled by working with us and that they have similar opportunities that WfW presented me as a VU student.  Between our directors, key supporters, and student group, WfW is run by experts in engineering, nursing, finance, and liberal arts.  We offer so many opportunities to work, network and grow something truly great (potable water systems!) with other smart, motivated, and extraordinary people.

2010 was a very good year for WfW, but we are confident that 2011 will be even better.  Join us tomorrow night (again, 9/7 @ 7pm in Vasey Hall) and be a part of an effort that truly improves and saves lives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

