Posted by: dawnmepstein | January 2, 2013

Hitting the Ground Running in 2013!

Executive Director, Dawn Epstein

Executive Director, Dawn Epstein

Happy New Year!

It’s hard to believe that it was only a few short months ago that our founder, Matt Nespoli, was writing about building a new Water for Waslala and now here I am writing my first blog post as the Executive Director!

As you may have seen in Matt’s most recent newsletter, Water for Waslala has grown significantly in the last year and we have ambitious plans to help more people in 2013 than we’ve helped in the last eight years – combined! So I am here to help us achieve these goals in both the US and Waslala by managing our day-to-day US operations, scaling our fundraising program, and improving communication with our donors and supporters in the US.

I’ve worked in nonprofits and fundraising for over six years and I am really excited to join Water for Waslala. Check out my bio here.

There’s something special about this organization that I can’t quite articulate. Maybe it’s the laser-focused mission and the sense of urgency to solve this crisis, while insisting on doing community-supported, sustainable work. Maybe it’s the compelling story of how it all started with a group of college kids on a trip who decided to take a need they saw and do something about it. Or maybe it’s the simple fact that for about $100 you can literally change the course of someone’s life by providing access to clean drinking water. I don’t know for sure, but whatever it is, I’m honored to be a part of it.

At the end of January I’ll be making my first trip to Waslala and I can’t wait to see our work first-hand. From what I’ve heard, I’m in for an adventure and I’m really excited!

Have you been to Waslala? Do you have a great Waslala memory to share? What’s your advice for a first-timer like me?

Responses

  1. Great post Dawn and best of luck w/your first trip to Waslala! As challenging as it can be to drive up, down and throughout the lush mountains of rural Waslala, you will never be without a breathtaking view. It is a truly peaceful and beautiful place, especially around sunrise or sunset hours.

    Just don’t forget your bug spray!

  2. Excellent post. Great cause. Your enthusiasm really comes across in your blog. Donations go right to where they can help. Very meaningful work. Best wishes for a successful and safe trip.


Leave a Reply

Categories

